Hoopla Doopla

Hoopla Doopla is a pre-school TV show created and produced by Melinda Wearne of The Content Agency. The 52 x 12 min series has been produced in conjunction with Beyond for the ABC and CCTV, the Chinese national broadcaster. The series was shot in CCTVs studios outside Beijing over a 6-month period from February 2013, with 3 Australian  and 3 Chinese cast members, a Chinese crew and key creatives from Australia.
The stories revolve around the town of Hoopla, where the six extraordinary inhabitants, Mimi, Ziggy, Jango, Bop, Squiggie and Zap all live. The friends are played by circus-trained actors who somersault, unicycle, juggle, tumble and hoola-hoop in and out of trouble.

The series is groundbreaking not only because of its pushing physical comedy in new directions for kids tv but also because of the scale of the co-production between the ABC and CCTV. Hoopla Doopla is the biggest co-production undertaken between the two broadcasters to date. It was also a pretty extraordinary year for the Content Agency and we are looking forward to watching the series on ABC4Kids in 2014. The series will screen on ABC4Kids at 10:10am on Feb 10, 2014, and will also screen in China on CCTVs kids channels.




Hoopla is a pre-school live action TV series, commissioned as a co-production between the ABC in Australia and Chinese national broadcaster CCTV. The Content Agency is producing the 52 x 12 min series with Beyond International for broadcast in 2014. The show begins a 6-month shoot in Beijing in February 2103. Originally conceived by Melinda Wearne from The Content Agency, Hoopla a town populated by circus-skilled characters who back-flip, juggle, hand stand and tumble at the drop of a ring-masters hat.

Hoopla is not only ground breaking in its format, but also in the bringing together the Australian and Chinese national broadcasters on their biggest project to date.

We are extremely proud of Hoopla and are looking forward to seeing it come together over the next 12 months